Google Images is a popular cloud storage solution for backing up photos and videos, especially among Google Pixel and other Android users. This platform allows you to archive old images and retrieve them from any device that allows you to sign in to your Google account. Google Images elegantly organizes photos into albums based on faces, places, time, and a variety of other factors. Even photographs and videos deleted from the Google Photos app are retained for 60 days in the Trash folder before being permanently deleted. It’s also possible to get them back before they vanish. This is only the case if the Google Photos Back Up and Sync feature is turned on.
How to recover deleted photos and videos from Google Photos
If a user wants to retrieve lost photos and videos, they must first check their app’s Trash folder to see if the content is still there. A deleted photo or video that isn’t in the Trash can’t be recovered. If a user transferred a photo to Trash more than 60 days ago, or if they placed it to Trash and then emptied the folder, they won’t be able to restore it. Furthermore, if the photo or video was moved to the Trash folder more than 30 days ago on a smartphone running Android 11 or later and it wasn’t backed up, it can’t be restored. If the Trash folder was permanently destroyed or the content was permanently erased from the device’s Gallery app without first backing it up, the restoration will not work. If the photo or video is viewable in Google Photos’ Trash folder, use your Android phone or a Web browser to retrieve it using the techniques outlined below.
- Open the Google Photos app on your Android phone, Android tablet, iPhone, or iPad to restore a photo or video.
- Tap Library at the bottom and navigate to the Trash folder.
- Locate the image or video that you want to repair. Hold the photo or video in your hand.
- Select the Restore option at the bottom. The photo or video will be returned to the Gallery app on the phone, the Google Photos library, and the albums it was previously in.
- You can go to photos.google.com on your PC.
- Click the Trash folder on the left side of the window.
- Select the photo or video you wish to restore by moving your mouse over it.
- Click Restore in the upper right corner. That photo or video will be restored to your Google Photos account and re-added to any albums where it was previously saved.